Skip to content


We have had such a wonderful response to the opening of entries to next year’s Expedition Africa.

Thank you to all of the teams from around the world who have given us their support and will join us for the Adventure Racing World Championships in the Eastern Cape next year!

We are humbled and will do our utmost to deliver a memorable and epic event to honour the trust you have put into us.


At the moment we have an incredible 110 team entries, we have opened another 10 additional team entry slots.

Once those are full, we will have a waiting list to fill up places of any teams which have to drop out and cannot attend.

The Adventure Racing World Championship offers 15 free entry slots to World Qualifier Races winners and the five regional series champions. Teams who have already entered may win an ARWS Qualifier in 2023 and that will free up more slots.

Interesting entry list facts:

• 110 teams

• 28 countries represented

• 40 South African teams

• 70 International teams.

• 7 teams from France

• 6 teams from the United Kingdom

• 5 teams from Spain

• 5 teams from Canada

• 3 teams from countries such as Australia, U.S.A, Ireland, New Zealand and Brazil

• Countries represented: Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Holland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Namibia, New Zealand, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Uruguay and the U.S.A.

Will post the full team list next week for everyone to see.

Come and join us for a truly African Adventure Racing Experience next October.

We encourage any team to still join us to put their entry in now

Scenes from Expedition Africa 2017 in the Eastern Cape stone laying ceremony:

Train hard and stay safe

Kouga Municipality

Sarah Baartman District Municipality

Cape St Francis Resort

Eastern Cape Tourism


SPOT Africa

Squirt Cycling Products

Bike Box



ARWS – Adventure Racing World Series